As more and more folks get conscious about their food choices, I get asked all the time about how to eat gluten-free AND vegan.
Well, as I've talked about before, it's actually quite easy to do, so let's dive right in.
First, what is gluten? It's a protein found in some of our most widely consumed grains, including wheat, spelt, rye, and barley.
So why is this protein so often a problem? Many people, particularly those with celiac disease, experience painful to life-threatening inflammation in the small intestines, along with other symptoms, when digesting gluten. And because gluten is found in so many products made with grains, it can be a little daunting to know what you can and cannot eat, especially as a new vegan.
Fortunately, there are many gluten-free whole grains you can eat on a healthy vegan diet.
(This is Curry Quinoa, one of my favorite grain dishes.)
Eat these gluten-free whole grains:
• Buckwheat (despite its name, its completely gluten-free; its commonly used toasted as kasha or to make Japanese soba noodles)
• Brown rice
• Corn and cornmeal (including grits or hominy)
• Oats (oats are gluten-free, but are commonly grown and processed with wheat, so make sure the packaging is labeled gluten-free)
• Teff (commonly used to make Ethiopian injera flatbread)
How to cook them:
1 cup Amaranth ~ 3 cups water ~ Cook 45-60 min ~ Makes 3 1/2 cups
1 cup Buckwheat ~ 2 cups water ~ Cook 20 min ~ Makes 4 cups
1 cup Brown Rice ~ 2 ½ cups water ~ Cook 24-45 min ~ Makes 3-4 cups
1 cup Cornmeal (Polenta) ~ 4 cups water ~ Cook 25-30 min ~ Makes 2 1/2 cups
1 cup Millet ~ 2 ½ cups water ~ Cook 25-35 min ~ Makes 4 cups
1 cup Oats (Steel Cut) ~ 4 cups water ~ Cook 20 min ~ Makes 4 cups
1 cup Quinoa ~ 2 cups water ~ Cook 12-15 min ~ Makes 3+ cups
1 cup Teff ~ 3 cups water ~ Cook 20 min ~ Makes 2 1/2 cups
*Always bring to a boil before simmering. (Learn more at WholeGrainsCouncil.org.)
Have a great week, fam!